Skip Nav


Release Date: 04/03/2023

CONTACT: Angel Jenio,

The Next Generation Fuels Act was reintroduced in the U.S. House of Representatives with bipartisan support from Michigan’s Congressional delegation. The Michigan Corn Growers Association (MCGA) applauded the development, saying the legislation would help address the country’s most pressing energy issues through a transition to cleaner fuels and vehicles.

Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa) led the bipartisan reintroduction of the bill along with Reps. Angie Craig (D-Minn.), Darin LaHood (R-Ill.) and Nikki Budzinski (D-Ill.) Michigan members of Congress who signed on include Reps. Dan Kildee (D-MI), Lisa McLain (R-MI) and Elissa Slotkin (D-MI).

“The Next Generation Fuels Act will lower fuel prices at the pump, reduce carbon emissions and strengthen our national security through energy independence,” said MCGA President Randy Poll. “We thank Representatives Dan Kildee, Lisa McLain and Elissa Slotkin for sponsoring this important legislation.”

The Next Generation Fuels Act would clean up the nation’s fuel supply and transition new vehicles to use cleaner, more efficient fuels that also lower costs for drivers. By establishing a clean, high-octane standard for fuel and requiring that sources of additional octane result in at least 40% fewer greenhouse gas emissions, the legislation would allow automakers to significantly improve vehicle fuel efficiency through advanced engines.

The legislation builds the nation’s clean energy progress by advancing higher ethanol blends and new vehicles that work together to deliver greater emission reductions, cost savings and consumer choice.

As MCGA has called on the Biden administration to act to prevent a disruption in access to higher blends of ethanol this summer, the Next Generation Fuels Act would also permanently remove regulatory barriers, allowing for higher ethanol blends and advanced vehicles that maintain a wider range of competitive fuel and vehicle choices.

In addition to the lead House sponsors and Michigan cosponsors, Reps. Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Mike Bost (R-Ill), André Carson (D-Ind.), Emanuel Cleaver (D-Mo.), James Comer (R-Ky.), Randy Feenstra (R-Iowa), Brad Finstad (R-Minn.), Mike Flood (R-Neb.), Ashley Hinson (R-Iowa), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Mike Lawler (R- NY), Mary Miller (R-Ill.), Zach Nunn (R-Iowa) and Eric Sorenson (D-Ill.) also joined the legislation as cosponsors.

A companion bill was also introduced in the Senate.